From December 4-8, 2022, ArcticNet brought the northern research and science community together for the first time in person in two years for the 18th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM2022). The event was a resounding success as ArcticNet hosted over 1200 members of the Canadian and international Arctic research community for a week of discussion, networking and knowledge sharing. With approximately 420 Northern participants (35%), this year was the most representative conference to date. Northern participation is critical to the ASM, ensuring Northerners are an integral part of the conversation around the future of Arctic research in Canada. 

ASM2022 brought the northern research community together for more than 61 scientific sessions, eight of which were livestreamed and recorded, and five plenary sessions, all of which were livestreamed and recorded (all livestreams available here). The scientific programming demonstrated a commitment to research excellence, where approximately 450 researchers, throughout sessions, plenaries and posters, shared their expertise on a range of environmental, health, and socio-economic Arctic issues. 

ArcticNet was honoured to open the conference with remarks from Natan Obed, President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK), Jennifer Hubbard, President and Chief Executive Officer at Polar Knowledge Canada (POLAR), and Sheila Watt-Cloutier, Canadian Inuk activist, author and Nobel Peace Prize nominee. Statements given via video recording also included the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada, and the Honourable Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs. 

The ArcticNet Student Association (ASA) kicked off ASM2022 by hosting over 600 students and early career researchers during the first ever annual Early Career Northern Researchers (ECNR) Annual Meeting, formerly known as Student Day. The Annual Meeting was hosted in partnership with the Association of Canadian Universities for Northern Studies (ACUNS), Memorial University of Newfoundland – Labrador Campus, and the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) Canada. The 2022 edition of the ECNR Meeting featured a plenary on how to conduct respectful and reciprocal northern research, multiple training sessions for ECNRs, various documentary screenings, and a lunch with mentors. 

Throughout the ASM, four plenaries touched on a variety of subjects; The One Health Approach to Address Complex Challenges in the Arctic, Alternative and Sustainable Energy Innovation in the Arctic, Ocean Decade Initiatives for a Changing Arctic, and Sensitivity of Arctic Regions to Contaminants and Pollutants. These plenaries featured experts from a multitude of different sectors. 

Aligned with its Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Strategy, ArcticNet worked with InclusiveKind through the HearU program to offer all conference attendees a designated inclusive space, with the opportunity to discuss barriers in Arctic research, and a safe and anonymous way to report mistreatment during the ASM. 

In addition to a compelling Scientific Program, ArcticNet hosted over 220 posters and 26 exhibitors in their exhibitor hall. ASM2022 ended with the award gala with a musical performance from the talented throat singing group Siqiniup Qilauta, or Sunsdrum, comprised of Lynda Brown and Heidi Metcalfe, and the skilled Greenlandic Mask Dancer Najattaajaraq Joelsen and the presentation of over 30 awards: 

  1.   Polar Knowledge Canada presented the 2022 Northern Science Award to Lucassie Arragutainaq for his lifelong dedication to Arctic climate change research. 
  2.   The ASA and APECS Canada presented the Mentor Award to Dr. Kimberly Strong, University of Toronto, for her devotion to the success of her students. 
  3.   The ASA presented the Community Pitch awards to 1) Danielle Hallé, University of Waterloo, 2) Galina Jonat, Carleton University, and 3) Monojit Saha, University of Manitoba and the Guest Judges Award was presented to Guillaume Blais, Université Laval. 
  4.   Eric Loring, ITK Senior Policy Advisor, and Grace Salomonie, ITK Research Coordinator, presented multiple awards sponsored by ArcticNet and ITK. 
    1.   The Inuit Partnership of Excellence Student Poster Award to Brent Puqiqnak. 
    2.   The first ever Inuit Poster Award to Christina Uquutaq Lock. 
    3.   The Inuit Recognition Award to Jean Allen for her service in advancing Inuit self-determined research. 
  5.   Dr. Jackie Dawson and Dr. Lisa Loseto presented the Arctic Inspiration Prize Finalists, which can be viewed here. 

ArcticNet awarded nine student poster awards to: Social and Health Sciences, sponsored by Sentinel North, 1) Alissa Sallans, 2) Marie-Hélène Carignan, and 3) Breanna Bishop; Terrestrial Sciences, sponsored by Arctic Science Journal (Canadian Science Publishing), 1) Geneviève Degré-Timmons, 2) Paola Ayala-Borda, and 3) Tabatha Rahman, and; Marine Sciences, sponsored by Amundsen Science, 1) Alexandra Langwieder, 2) Leah Pengelly, and 3) Margaret Atkinson. Thank you to all the poster judges. 

ArcticNet also awarded six photo contest awards to: Kasey Ryan (Landscape), Véronique Dubos (People and Communities), Anthony Zerafa (Plants), Natalie Gillis (Wildlife), Wai Yin Cheung (Research Activities) and Julia Baak (Artistic Merit and Originality). Thank you to all the judges. 

The Northern Travel Fund allowed for over 40 Inuit, First Nations, Métis, and other Northerners to attend the ASM2022. Thank you to Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC), Arctic Research Foundation (ARF), Canadian Mountain Network (CMN) and Sentinel North for contributing to the fund alongside ArcticNet to provide funding for Northerners. 

Thank you to all ASM2022 sponsors who made this year’s event possible: Amundsen Science, Arctic Research Foundation, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, Sentinel North, Weston Family Foundation, Polar Knowledge Canada, Canadian Science Publishing and Canadian Mountain Network. Thank you to all the participants, presenters, partners and exhibitors for their contributions that helped make the ASM2022 such a success. 

Thank you to LiveIt Earth for livestreaming and recording all the plenary sessions and select topical sessions (available here) and for filming and creating the ASM2022 Highlight Video (available here). Thank you to Troy Curtis for capturing the ASM2022 through his photography skills. Links to the photos will be posted on our conference website and social medias when they are ready. 

Finally, a last big thank you to everyone who attended ASM2022! It was a delight to re-connect in person with so many people in the Arctic community after two years of virtual ASMs. We hope to see you next year, in person or virtually, in Iqaluit, Nunavut! 


ArcticNet uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. These cookies are only used by ArcticNet and are not shared or used for advertising purposes. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read Cookie Policy.